Solving Equations Foldable

Last week we struggled with solving equations.   I gave students a flow chart hoping that would help them with their work.  Then a colleague who is talented in creating interactive foldables took the flow chart to a whole new level!   She created this Solving Equation Foldable!

The solving equations foldable asks students about their equation step by step.  It shows them an example of what a next step might look like.

I’m looking now for a foldable on solving inequalities.  If you have one to share, I’d love to see it!

This entry was posted in Made4Math, Math at School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Solving Equations Foldable

  1. Kristin says:

    Perfect for this week…thank you!

  2. misscalcul8 says:

    Could you give them a blank template and have them create their own, based on what they’ve learned already to solve equations? This might help you uncover any misconceptions students have currently before moving on.

    They could just do the similarities and then as a class you could do the differences.

  3. @aanthonya says:

    I totally borrowed this for this week! Thank you!

  4. druinok says:

    Very cool foldable! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Sue says:

    Thank you for sharing this! I used it last year with my 5th graders and it was exactly what they needed. Most of them kept it in their assignment notebooks and asked if they could use it in 6th grade. I sent a copy of it to the middle school teacher’s to use:)

  6. Christine Belk says:

    Thanks for a great resource!

  7. Deelyte says:

    This looks great, I can’t wait to try this with my Algebra 1 students this fall.

  8. Jesi Vargas says:

    Wow!!! This template is awesome!! Thank you!!

  9. Jennie Gaylord says:

    Does anyone have one that includes a tab for special cases?

  10. Rach says:

    Hello, by any chance do you have this as an editable document? I would like to bold and change some of the words to better help one of me ELL students. THANK YOU FOR THIS POST!

  11. Kyla says:

    Awesome idea!! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Pingback: Algebra 1 INB Pages - Solving Equations | Math = Love

Leave a comment