Functions from the start!

Monday is the day!  I meet my freshmen students on Monday … and I am excited.

After our first day, we will jump into an introductory unit on functions!  While it can be a challenging concept, it does lend itself well to math lab activities.  I plan to use these two activities during the first week!

In this second activity I used Mr. D’s poster project as a guide:  http://www.teachforever.com/2007/10/project-idea-independent-vs-dependent.html.

Excitement is high … glad there is a buffer day tomorrow … a day for rest, relaxation, reflection!

This entry was posted in Math at School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Functions from the start!

  1. Pingback: New (Math!) Bloggers « Megan Hayes-Golding

  2. The independent/dependent variable activity is pure genius. I’m a sucker for cut & match activities, so perhaps I’m biased. Maybe after students complete it, they could devise their own creative versions?

    Welcome to the blogotwittersphereoverse!

    • instillnessthedancing says:

      Absolutely – they could create their own … and if you had time in class they could try to stump one another.

  3. brainopennow says:

    Bookmarked! Thanks for creating and linking to other sources on this activity.

Leave a comment