my students speak …

I asked students to provide some feedback on our algebra class – anonymously.  It is interesting that across six classes, the thoughts are very similar.  I will review these ideas before our second semester begins …

 What is one thing you like about math or about our class?

  • It’s easy
  • I like trying to learn
  • My friends are in the class
  • Helps you learn about most things in life like money
  • Using the calculator
  • When I understand the material
  • I like how you can put math in everyday words
  • It’s fun to learn
  • The low degree of difficulty
  • It will help me in the future
  • Classmates are funny
  • I like that we have plenty of time to take our tests
  • I like that we learn well
  • I like the posters with notes that you hang around the class
  • The notes you give us
  • The active activities
  • We get rewarded
  • I like the way we do reviews
  • I like how the next topic fits in with the one we just learned
  • I like coming to morning tutorials
  • I like that we sit in groups and take notes

 What is one thing you don’t like about math or about our class?

  • The class is somewhat slow
  • It’s not helpful
  • It’s too long
  • It’s hard
  • It’s confusing
  • I don’t like having to write out everything
  • I don’t understand it
  • I don’t like when the teacher goes to fast
  • Some people are annoying
  • After you first teach us something, you expect us to know it
  • The math can get super boring
  • When I am trying to understand, I can get distracted
  • I can’t remember how to do a lot of the material until after a long time of struggling
  • Algebra is mostly pointless
  • Not being able to sit with who you want
  • Our class is noisy
  • A lot of people cheat in our class
  • Our classroom is cold
  • I don’t like quiet individual work
  • We don’t get a lot done
  • I don’t like that problems have tons of steps to get to the solutions
  • We go too fast
  • None of my friends are in the class

What can I do to help you learn Algebra better?

  • Use peers to help one another
  • By being fun
  • Take more time with the problems
  • Help me understand the questions
  • Do more activities
  • Keep me on task
  • Use more engaging activities
  • Nothing more than you are already doing
  • Explain more clearly
  • Provide food/candy
  • Use more visual learning
  • Go slower/explain more
  • Move faster – class is boring because you go too slowly
  • Keep having tutorials in the morning
  • Use pictures when you can
  • Use better activities
  • Do more homework in class so we can ask questions about it

 What can you do to help you learn Algebra better?

  • Try harder
  • Focus
  • Study more
  • Take the teacher’s advice
  • Attend tutorials
  • Pay attention in class
  • Listen when you are talking
  • Stay focused and care more
  • Start doing homework
  • Not be lazy

Hmmm … how best to use these thoughts??

This entry was posted in Math at School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my students speak …

  1. Pingback: MATHEMATICS EBOOK – 1001 Algebra Problems Proven to Improve Your Algebra Skills (1001 Series) | Free Ebooks And Science Journals Download

Leave a Reply

