In stillness

Blogging about my school experience is new to me and I’m enjoying the process.  I began blogging a few years ago.  At that time I blogged to help find my “center,” to quieten myself,  to recharge.  As I thought about blogging at that time I was reading poetry.  I ran across this stanza in T.S. Eliot‘s work, The Four Quartets:

I said to my soul, be still … So the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness the dancing; Whisper of running streams, and winter lightning –  The wild thyme unseen and the wild strawberry, The laughter in the garden, echoed ecstasy …

The stanza resonated with me at the time, and the name of my blog was identified.  It is in stillness that my soul finds delight.  I am an introvert … not just shy … but I am energized by being alone, finding time for personal quiet, dabbling in creative expressions.

And yet, I love teaching!  In fact, after being in administration for 12 years, I am choosing to go back into the classroom.  I enjoyed the work of a principal but I missed the interaction with students.  I am a bit apprehensive – feel like a “new” teacher even though I have been an educator for 30 years.

I know I’ll have to work at creating stillness and quiet in my life.  Blogging again provides an avenue for reflective exercise.

Interestingly enough, I’m finding blogging to be a different experience this time around.  Not only is it a reflective exercise, but it is both creative and social.  Reading and interacting on other math teachers’ blogs has been quite fun … and certainly helpful!

This entry was posted in Math at School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In stillness

  1. Cindy Harrington says:

    So good to hear from you! Glad you are in Texas with family and enjoying this new season….

Leave a Reply

