powerful words

I read yesterday in a book about blessing others that someone has said that it takes 37 positives to reverse 1 negative in the heart of a child.  That is staggering.  I don’t know if it’s correct but what if it only took half as many … 18 positives to reverse 1 negative in the heart of a child … wouldn’t that still be astounding?!?

I’ve been thinking about the half full glass (vs the half empty one) and the power of encouragement.  So often I look to others to provide the encouragement I need.  Instead I want to be the encouragement others need … a lofty goal … a worthwhile one.

‘Tis a strange mystery, the power of words!
Life is in them, and death. A word can send
The crimson colour hurrying to the cheek.
Hurrying with many meanings; or can turn
The current cold and deadly to the heart.
Anger and fear are in them; grief and joy
Are on their sound; yet slight, impalpable:–
A word is but a breath of passing air.
~ Leticia Landon

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

This entry was posted in Public Domain Poetry, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to powerful words

  1. Jeff Goins says:

    I was reading about the power of the tongue in the book of James this morning and was really convicted. I mean, I can be a talker, you know, and how many times do I say things that are not necessarily blessed but just cavalier nonsense? Moreover, how many people do I wound in the process? I shudder to imagine. I need to watch my words more carefully.

    • instillnessthedancing says:

      I agree that we need to especially watch our casual words – words spoken when we aren’t trying to necessarily make a point in someone’s life … it’s those words that often come back to haunt us …. like the illustration squeezing the toothpaste out of the tube but not able to put it back IN the tube.

      Peter Lord’s book on the power of our words is a quick read – good insight.

Leave a Reply

