come close now!

He invites us to come …
                 come and drink,
         come and eat,
                         come, be full,
in his kingdom, 
                   in his righteousness
      knowing, understanding … 
whole, complete … joyful!

Two voices … the prophet, Isaiah, and the messiah, Jesus … 

“Hey there! All who are thirsty, 
   come to the water!

Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.”

Pay attention, come close now, 
   listen carefully to my life-giving, life-nourishing words.

I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.

I’m making a lasting covenant commitment with you, 
   the same that I made with David:  sure, solid, enduring love.

This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.

Seek God while he’s here to be found, 
   pray to him while he’s close at hand.

Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you.

“I don’t think the way you think. 
   The way you work isn’t the way I work.” 
         God’s Decree.
“For as the sky soars high above earth, 
   so the way I work surpasses the way you work, 
   and the way I think is beyond the way you think.

I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father.

So you’ll go out in joy, 
   you’ll be led into a whole and complete life.

I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Christ has begun a good work … we are his workmanship … he will complete his work!

This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

