limited viewfinder

I shared a point of view today at work … I’m reminded that point of view is the result of sight … limited by the viewfinder through which we live our life.

 “Love seeketh not itself to please,
    Nor for itself hath any care,
    But for another gives it ease,
    And builds a heaven in hell’s despair.”

    So sang a little clod of clay,
    Trodden with the cattle’s feet,
    But a pebble of the brook
    Warbled out these metres meet:

    “Love seeketh only Self to please,
    To bind another to its delight,
    Joys in another’s loss of ease,
    And builds a hell in heaven’s despite.”
~ William Blake

Madeleine L’Engle writes in Walking on Water, “I doubt if there’s any such thing as total objectivity.  We listen out of our own skins, our own ears, see through our own eyes with their various myopias and astigmatisms.”  She told an interviewer, “I have a point of view.  You have a point of view.   But God has view.”

God’s view is not limited by a human viewfinder … God says, “I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come.  I say: My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.” ~Isaiah 46:10

Like the blind man in the gospels, I want to see … I want to see as God sees … so that my “point of view” mirrors his “view.”

If the world was blind,
maybe then we’d see
the true side of beauty,
deep within you and me.

No one could judge us
by our outer looks,
like the fancy covers
on expensive books.

We’d see with our hearts,
and not just our eyes,
and what we’d discover
might be a surprise.

There would be no need
to try to impress,
with the way we look,
or the way that we dress.

The only thing that would matter
is the way we would feel,
not phoney or cheap,
but truthful and real.
~ author unknown

This entry was posted in Public Domain Poetry, Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

