stuck in a moment

Weary of myself, and sick of asking
What I am, and what I ought to be,
At this vessel’s prow I stand, which bears me
Forwards, forwards, o’er the starlit sea.

And a look of passionate desire
O’er the sea and to the stars I send:
“Ye who from my childhood up have calm’d me,
Calm me, ah, compose me to the end!

 

“Ah, once more,” I cried, “ye stars, ye waters,
On my heart your mighty charm renew;
Still, still let me, as I gaze upon you,
Feel my soul becoming vast like you!”
~ Matthew Arnold

For a few weeks I’ve been reflecting on the challenges of life, feeling out of control.  I heard these words to a U2 song recently …

You’ve got to get yourself together
You’ve got stuck in a moment
And now you can’t get out of it

Don’t say that later will be better
Now you’re stuck in a moment
And you can’t get out of it

The words caught my attention.  As I let those words puddle in my head a bit, I realized that “wanting to gain control” is the moment of time in which I’m stuck.  Instead of control … I want to learn dependence.

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own.  Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.  Don’t assume that you know it all.  Run to God! Run from evil!  Your body will glow with health, your very bones will vibrate with life! ~E. Peterson’s translation of Proverbs 3:6-8

It’s easy to feel like my world is dependent on me … I want to banish that thought.   Teach me to lean … 

What a fellowship, what a joy divine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
What a blessedness, what a peace is mine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

This entry was posted in Public Domain Poetry, Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to stuck in a moment

  1. Jason says:

    Good one!

    Transcendental poetry about the dissolution of self, Pop music about the illusion of time, and scripture about the fallacy of ‘control,’ all wrapped up in a nice package of your personal relationship with God.

    I like.

Leave a Reply

