full of his grace

It is so easy to fall into the trap of judging others.  

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

William Blake writes …

To Mercy, Pity, Peace and Love
All pray in their distress;
And to these virtues of delight
Return their thankfulness. …

Then every man, of every clime,
That prays in his distress,
Prays to the human form divine,
Love, Mercy, Pity and Peace.

And all must love the human form,
In heathen, Turk or Jew;
Where Mercy, Love, and Pity dwell
There God is dwelling too.

This poem speaks to me of our humanity … our all-encompassing characteristic … that we all “fall short of the glory of God.”  It also speaks to me of God’s patience, “not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”

In the stillness tonight I want to divest myself of pride … it should be easy …for I am a recipient of grace.  And it is that grace for which I want to be known … 

And if I can sing, let my songs be full of His glory
If I can speak, let my words be full of His grace
And if I should live or die
Let me be found pursuing this prize
The One that alone satisfies
The treasure of Jesus
~ Steven Curtis Chapman 

This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

