in secret silence of the mind

The prayer of faith is a sincere, sweet, and quiet view of divine, eternal
truth. The soul rests quiet, perceiving and loving God; sweetly rejecting
all the imaginations that present themselves, calming the mind in the
Divine presence, and fixing it only on God. ~ M. De Molinos

prayers, petitions
               his presence gentle and firm
   … his work to be done 

I ran across this interesting quote tonight …  attributed to a French Jesuit theologian, Peter Faber … There is hardly ever a complete silence in our soul. God is whispering to us well-nigh incessantly. Whenever the sounds of the world die out in the soul, or sink low, then we hear these whisperings of God. He is always whispering to us, only we do not always hear, because of the noise, hurry, and distraction which life causes as it rushes on.   I had not thought of God’s whisperings to be incessant … if it is so, I want to hear his voice … I want to quieten my mind and heart … so that his voice can be heard clearly, first, foremost … over and above the world around me.

My God, permit me not to be
A stranger to myself and thee;
Amidst a thousand thoughts I rove,
Forgetful of my highest love.

I would obey the voice divine, 
And all inferior joys resign.
Be earth with all her scenes withdrawn,
let noise and vanity begone;
In secret silence of the mind
My heav’n, and there my God, I find.
~Isaac Watts 

This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

