poetry in the ordinary

This morning as I have luxury to be home, watching the falling snow, contemplating the joy of this “extra” time … I ran across a poem by Judith Viorst.  She writes in one stanza …

I’ll have no trumpets, triumphs, trails of glory.
It seems the woman I’ve turned out to be
Is not the heroine of some grand story.
But I have learned to find the poetry
In what my hands can touch, my eyes can see.
The pleasures of an ordinary life.

Today I celebrate the ordinary life … and seek to hear the music and rhythm of poetry in my day …

… from the rich fragrance of coffee –
                       to the sparkling crisp  snowfall,
        the comfort of well-worn clothing –
                        the quiet reading of books on my nightstand

Praise the LORD from the earth … lightning and hail, snow and clouds,    stormy winds that do his bidding … Let them praise the name of the LORD,    for his name alone is exalted … Praise the LORD.

This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to poetry in the ordinary

  1. Bonnie says:

    Wonderful post, today!

    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

